Prompt : Turning Red

Inspired by THIS

I only ever had one black tally mark.

I married her and I never cared about all of her red tallies. We were each other’s one black mark, the only mark that mattered.

Now that black mark is red.

It didn’t happen all at once, it slowly got lighter, faded from black to burgundy. I didn’t even notice at first, I never thought that a black mark could turn red.

She was falling out of love, all her tally marks were catching up to me, and my only tally mark was turning red.

 

I like the idea that I  came up with for this… about a tally mark turning back red/someone falling out of love, however I couldn’t figure out the best way to execute it…. Maybe I’ll revisit it later. 

Leave a Reply

