Free Flow 8: Exert from a novel i’ll never write(4)

I lay in the middle of the bed listening to the air condition kick on for the seventh time tonight. I’ve been awake for hours, unable to sleep. I’m not sure what my mind is trying to process, but apparently it requires that I stay awake.

I look over at the clock.

2:28 am

Shines in bright red letter on the clock. The dot in the left corner blinks to alert me the alarm is active. I need to be awake in six hours.

I sit up in bed and blink at the darkness. I stare at a random spot on the floor before laying on my side, then my back, then my other side, and my back again. I rub my hands over my face and sit up once more. It has barley been 3 minutes! I stare at the clock angrily, willing my body to become so tired that it just shuts down, but I stay awake.

Tears well in my eyes the longer I stare at the clock and I swipe aggressively at my cheeks as the tears keep building. I put my hands over my face breathing heavy. I can’t even manage to go to sleep like a functioning human being!

I climb out of bed and head over to my closet, pulling out a jacket and my reliable combat boots. I open my bedroom door slowly; the entire house is asleep and could sleep through a hurricane but I’m still nervous.

I make my way down the stairs and to the laundry room, disabling the alarm system and quieting the door chime. I leave out the back door, it’s easier to keep unlocked and my parents never set up motion lights.

I have no idea where I’m headed but I just walking.

Left, right, right, left, right.

I’m at the liberty of my subconscious. (307 words)

 

Leave a Reply

