Free Flow 2: Reflection

She had golden hair and a smile that could calm a rabid dog.

If you caught her alone you couldn’t help but notice how soft her features were. Almost like she was on the verge of falling asleep. So small, so fragile, you’d be afraid you could break her with the weight of a hug.

Yet, she had such fire inside her, and a strength greater than anyone i ever met.

But it wasn’t enough,

And when she needed someone to hold her up.

We let her down.

–  – –

Five seconds.

That’s all it took.

I looked into her eyes for understanding and I saw everything I had missed, everything she had hidden so well. When her hand slipped through mine as she let go- and she wasn’t just letting go of my hand, or me, or anything tangible in this world.

She was letting go of everything.

The past.

The future.

The present.

The have been, what if’s, and maybes, she let go of them all.

I think what hurts the most, was seeing all that pain leave her eyes; to see her that peaceful when my world was falling apart.

Maybe I’m a terrible person, but:

I don’t think I’ll ever forgive her for that.(222 words)

Leave a Reply

